Education And The Disabled Veteran

Thank you to the Military Guide for publishing me.

When I left the military owing to disability I found myself in a bit of a fix. Though I had my army training and skills, and years of experience with them, I was distinctly lacking in the things that the civilian world could recognize. Sure, I’d been an NCO with demonstrated leadership skills under fire. But I didn’t have a degree, and without that, I wasn’t getting interviews.

I already wrote about what I could have done while still in the military to avoid that situation, so I don’t need to repeat the story here. Instead I’m simply going to state that, being in that situation, I bit the bullet and did what I had to do. I grabbed my ruck, filled it with textbooks, and began sitting in classrooms full of 19 and 20 year olds to obtain the degree that I needed.

Read the rest of the article here.

Leave a Reply

