Preparing for the Unexpected

Thank you to the Military Guide for allowing me to share advice with fellow veterans.

In early 2007 things were looking pretty good. I had just redeployed back to Ft. Hood after my third combat tour. I was an E-6 who had just become eligible for my E-7 and was just waiting to see where I came in on the cut off list. I had nine years under my belt and was feeling good about being just months from being half way to that 20 year letter. Life was good.

Image of road sign with two directions | The-Military-Guide.com

I did have one small problem though. I’d caught this nagging cough in Afghanistan and it just didn’t seem to want to go away. During my medical processing I mentioned it on the appropriate form in my stack of forms and figured a little time free of combat would see it go away.

Read the rest of the article here.

Leave a Reply

