How to Turn Computer Games into Lesson Plans

Thank you to Edudemic for publishing me!

I was a child of the ‘80s. I started kindergarten in ’77, and proceeded to have the typical educational experience throughout the entire decade to follow before finally heading off to college in ’91. This means that, like pretty much every other American child of my day one of the pinnacle, memorable experiences of my childhood was playing computer games in school.

I’m sure that a number of you reading this are now scrunching your eyebrows together in confusion. Computer games? In school? In the ‘80s? What?

Read the rest of the article here.

2 thoughts on “How to Turn Computer Games into Lesson Plans

  1. Deborah Fike

    Hi Jamie! I loved this article on Edudemic. I was wondering if you were interested in also checking out Contraption Maker (http://contraptionmaker.com/education/). It’s a remake of The Incredible Machine, which was also a popular ’90s game in the classroom. We’ve got the original designer and programmer with us too! We’d be happy to provide you a copy of the game if you wanted to write an article about us.

    In any case, good luck with freelance work! (I grew up in southern Idaho. I miss it there sometimes now that I live in western Oregon.)

    Like

    Reply
    1. jamiemhinton Post author

      Hello Deborah.

      Thank you for the compliment.

      I’m certainly interested in talking about a possible article for you. Go ahead and drop me a line at jamie.m.hinton at gmail and we can talk further about it.

      -James

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

