12 Days of Anime: Gunslinger Girl, gifts, and humanity

Much thanks to Study of Anime for publishing me!

My apologies for the lateness on my rebroadcast of this. It originally posted eight days ago, but I hadn’t followed up to check on its status. Mea Culpa.

A few years ago I was a deployed solider in Afghanistan desperate for entertainment. Anime DVDs had become the primary source of such entertainment. They were easily purchased, easily shipped, and easily packed away in the very limited kit I could port from FOB to base to who knows where.
One of the series that I got into at the time was Gunslinger Girl. This grim series fitted my mood of the time. Young girls, turned into cyborgs and used as living weapons, drugged into remorselessness? Daaaaaark. It suited.
Leave a Reply

